Prof. Andrew P. Dove

Andrew graduated from the University of York with an MChem degree in 1999. His subsequent Ph.D. studies were conducted under the supervision of Prof. Vernon C. Gibson FRS at Imperial College, London, focused on metal catalysed co-ordination insertion polymerisation. Andrew undertook post-doctoral research first under the guidance of Prof. Robert M. Waymouth at Stanford University, California and then as a CIPMA post-doctoral fellow at IBM, San Jose, California under the supervision of Dr James L. Hedrick and Prof. Robert M. Waymouth. Andrew returned to the UK to take up a RCUK Fellowship in Nanotechnology in September 2005 before being appointed as an Assistant Professor in September 2006 and subsequently as an Associate Professor in September 2009 before being appointed as a Full Professor in June 2014. In January 2018, Andrew joined the School of Chemistry at the University of Birmingham as Professor of Chemistry.

Awards, Honours and Fellowships

  • 2022 – RSC Corday-Morgan Prize
  • 2022 – Fellow of American Chemical Society Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering
  • 2019 – MacroGroup UK Medal
  • 2018 – RSC Emerging Technologies Award
  • 2018 – RSC Norman Heatley Award
  • 2016 – Biomacromolecules/Macromolecules Young Researcher Award
  • 2016 – ERC Consolidator
  • 2014 – RSC Gibson-Fawcett Award
  • 2013 – Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry
  • 2012 – Warwick Award for Teaching Excellence
  • 2012 – Royal Society Industry Fellowship
  • 2012 – RSC JWT Jones Travelling Fellowship
  • 2009 – Macro Group UK Young Researcher Medal
  • 2005 – RCUK Fellowship in Nanoscience
  • 2004 – CPIMA Postdoctoral Fellowship

Membership of Learned or Professional Societies

  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Member of the American Chemical Society (Polymer and PMSE divisions)
  • Member of the Pure and Applied Macromolecular Science Group (Macro Group UK), previously committee member (2007 – 2013)
  • Founding and committee member of Biohydrogels Society
  • Committee member (2005 – 2009) of the Recent Appointees in Polymer Science Network
  • Member of UK Society for Biomaterials
  • Fellow of the Higher Education Academy


Office: Haworth Building

School of Chemistry, University of Birmingham, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 2TT